Acarological Society of America

Business Meeting, Minneapolis, MN, November 15, 2015

Minutes taken by Michael Skvarla

Up for election: president elect, two board members, webmaster, treasurer

Nominated for president-elect

- Jose Carlos Verle Rodrigues

Motion to elect carried with no opposition

Nominated for governing board

- Wayne Knee
- Fred Beaulieu

Motion to elect carried with no opposition

Nominated for webmaster

- Michael Skvarla

Motion to elect carried with no opposition

Nominated for treasurer

- Monica Farfan

Motion to elect carried with no opposition

Student awards for presented papers

1st place: Hanna Moniuszko \$400 + plaque

2nd place: Oscar Ospina \$300

Treasurer's report

- 41 active, paying members

- Started year with ~\$9000, ended with ~\$8000 (the report was not on hand, so precise numbers are not reflected here)

Motion to raise 2nd place student award to \$300

Motion to do so carried with no opposition

Motion to commission "Highlights of Acarology" paper for 2016 meeting.

- 30 minute paper that highlights the previous year's advances in the field
- Will need some form of compensation, but no amount was settled on

Motion to leave it up to governing board carried with no opposition

Acarologists who passed away in 2015

- Maurice Sabelis
- Andrea Radwell

2016 ASA afternoon symposium to be held in memory of Dr. John Moser