Minutes, Acarological Society of America

San Diego, 12 December, 2010

Agenda was prepared by President Quentin Fang and approved by the Board of Governors and the General Membership.

- 1. Call to order 4:50 pm
- 2. Meeting agenda approval: Approved.
- 3. Remembrance for acarologists who passed away this year

Valery Shevchenko (Russia), Robert Smiley (Wash. D.C.), Frank Radovsky (Oregon).

Members observed a moment of silence.

4. Approval of minutes of 2009 ASA Business meeting. No minutes to approve; Amrine lost them during move of labs from the WVU Agric. Science Building.

- 5. Student Awards:
 - Outstanding Student Paper Award: Daniella Carrillo, Univ. of FL
 - Student Travel Award: Samuel Bolton, The Ohio State Univ.
 - 1) That both awards were increased to \$250.00.
 - 2) Student Evaluation Judges: Mariam Lekveishvili, Eric McDonald, Jim Amrine

[Judges will use open criteria.]

• Joseph A. Camin Fellowship was awarded: Emily Pochubay.

Announced by: Hans Klompen, he will present the award to her. The Joseph A. Camin Fellowship provides funds to attend one week of the Summer Acarology Program at the Ohio State University.

- 6. ASA budget report (Jim Amrine): Presented and explained. See ASA Treasurer's Report in a separate file.
- 7. Archivist report (Lance Durden): Lance was not present.

8. ASA membership related issue: Hans Klompen stated that the online registration procedure does not work. He deactivated it for the end of 2010, and has prepared new registration procedures for 2011. He will have it ready in a few days, about Wednesday or Thursday, 15-16 December, 2010.

9. ASA Newsletter related issue:

Current Newsletter Editor:

Michael McAloon, Science Department, The Taft School

110 Woodbury Rd., Watertown, CT 06795

The webpage will be updated continuously and serve as the newsletter.

10. ASA webpage related issue

Current webpage master: Ashley Dowling, Univ. of Arkansas.

President Elect Jose Carlos Rodrigues and Mariam Lekveishvili volunteered to update the web page, correct errors, add news items and attempt to improve the appearance. They plan to have the web page hosted at Google; the Secretary-Treasurer's Membership Database will be used to update membership; a security password will be used to protect privacy.

New Business:

- 1. ASA meeting in Reno Nevada, 2011 Special Symposium and 10-minute papers:
 - Morning section: 10-minute Paper session and student competition.
 - Afternoon symposium: A special ASA tribute symposium in honor of the Acarological career and achievements of Dr. Evert Lindquist.

Proposed by Frederic Beaulieu (Frederic.beaulieu@agr.gc.ca)

Board decided 11 Dec., 2010:

• Make \$1400 available from the ASA account for the symposium: \$500 will be provided to Evert Lindquist as the keynote speaker.

- The society will solicit the Acarology Foundation for \$1000 to support the symposium.
- The society will solicit the Entomological Society of America to support the symposium.
- Ron Ochoa will contact Frederic Beaulieu, Agiculture Canada: ASA will contribute \$1400. Ron will ask ESA to waive ESA registration costs (Evert is Retired, cost would be ca \$100.) Ron suggested that the

invited papers be submitted as a package to the International Journal of Acarology or to the Canadian Entomologist to be published as a special issue.

2. Elections:

a. President-elect: Candidates: Joel Hutchinson (could not be here this year, but volunteered to serve). Cal Welbourne. Cal Welbourn won the election and is the new president elect.

b. Secretary/treasurer: Jim Amrine. Diana Sammataro volunteered to serve as the Assistant Secretary Treasurer. Her action was approved by the membership.

c. Archivist will remain: Lance Durden.

d. Governing Board Member Candidates were: Raul Villanueva and Natalie Hummel. Natalie Hummel was elected.

3. Miscellaneous - Announcements and Suggestions from floor. Secretary-Treasurer Jim Amrine told members that the decision of the board to raise the student award values to \$250.00 and the commitment of ASA to provide \$1400 for the special symposium in 2011 had not been approved by the general membership, and thus, Roberts Rules of Order had been violated. He asked if any members objected to the decision by the Officers and the Board. No one objected, and the actions were declared approved by the membership.

4. Transferring leadership to 2011 officers:

> 2011 President: Jose Carlos Rodrigues;

President-elect: Cal Welbourn

> Secretary/treasurer: Jim Amrine & Diana Sammataro.

> New Governing Board Member: Natalie Hummel.

Governing Board Members: Eric McDonald, Ron Ochoa, Will Reeves, Mariam Lekveishvili, Cal Welbourn, Natalie Hummel, Raul Villanueva.

Note: Cal Welbourn should be replaced as soon as possible; I recommend that Raul Villanueva be contacted and appointed to the board as he came in second in the election. This action must be approved by the officers and the remaining board members.

2011 New ASA Officers: The Gavel was given by President Quentin Fang to the new president, Jose Carlos Rodrigues.

5. Recognition of services: A plaque was given to President Quentin Fang for his outstanding service.

6. Other issues: Jose Carlos Rodrigues gave images of mites to a friend and asked them if they could produce a logo. Three potential logos were presented to the board, and one was chosen. A baseball cap with the logo was presented to the board. The logo was approved and the Board approved the use of the logo on baseball caps and T-shirts for purchase by members and interested persons. President Rodrigues will work out the pricing and procedures.

Member and former Secretary-Treasurer, Norm Fashing, mentioned that we need to find the booklet, "Guidelines and Duties of Officers", and make it available online to members at our website. The selection of a new slate of officers is supposed to be planned prior to the meeting by the President-Elect and the two retiring board members, the candidates are supposed to be interviewed for acceptance of the positions, and then asked to attend the current meeting. After this is done, the slate of candidates is presented to the membership and voted upon by members at the meeting.

7. Adjournment of meeting; about 7:10pm.

Respectively submitted by Jim Amrine, 12 Dec 2010