Minutes Business Meeting Acarological Society of America Reno, November 16, 2008

President Jim Amrine opened the session by thanking the speakers and moderators for an excellent set of presentations.

Reports:

Secretary / treasurer (Hans Klompen). The funding situation is good, with a current balance of \$ 14,122.20.

Newsletter. No newsletter was generated in 2008, although one issue is near publication. Harold Harlan stepped down from the position of newsletter editor due to increasing workload. The president thanked him on behalf of the society for his efforts. Michael McAloon (michael.mcaloon@gmail.com) has agreed to take up this important job.

Award news:

The 2008 Joseph A. Camin Fellowship was awarded to Janette Webber, Lincoln University, New Zealand (Rob Cruickshank, advisor).

The award for best student presentation for 2008 went to Kaitlin Uppstrom, Ohio State University, Columbus, OH (Hans Klompen, advisor). The winner received a \$100 check.

Two ASA travel award were awarded, one to Samantha Colby, Lewis & Clark College. Portland, OR (advisor Andrew Moldenke), the other to Kaitlin Uppstrom, Ohio State University. Both received a \$ 200 check

News and updates

Remembrance for acarologists who passed away this year (Jim Amrine). President Amrine called for a moment of silence for five of our colleagues that died this year: Tom Atyeo, Don Chant, Shozo Ehara, Cluff Hopla, and Wayne Moss.

Reception (Jim Amrine). President Amrine reminded members of a reception for ASA members organized by Taylor & Francis, the new publishers of International journal of Acarology. The recpetion took place on Monday November 17, from 5-7pm in room A13

Society elections. The executive committee presented one candidate for President-Elect and two for the Executive Committee. Quentin Fang, Georgia Southern University, Statesboro (qfang@georgiasouthern.edu), was voted in as President-Elect. The two new executive committee members are: Mariam Lekveishvili, West Virginia University, Morgantown, WV (mariam.lekveishvili@mail.wvu.edu), and Will Reeves, USDA ARS, Laramie WY (wkreeves@gmail.com). In addition Jim Amrine volunteered to take over the position of Secretary/Treasurer from Hans Klompen, starting in 2009.

Symposia 2008. Only a single proposals topic was suggested "Invasive plant mites", with Will Reeves and David James as co-organizers. The proposal was accepted by members present.

President Amrine handed the gavel to the new president Ashley Dowling. President Dowling thanked his predecessor for his service, and closed the session (5:30pm).

Call for additional business brought up no additional issues.

Submitted for approval to the membership,

Hans Klompen Secretary/treasurer ASA