2000 Minutes Initial 2000 ASA Executive Committee Meeting

Montreal, Quebec, Canada.

The meeting of the Executive Committee was called to order by President Hans Klompen at 8:45 p.m. on December 2, 2000. The meeting was scheduled for 7:30 p.m. but plane delays caused the later meeting time. Members present were Lance Durden (President-Elect), Jim Keirans (Secretary/Treasurer/Archivist), and Barry OConnor (Board Member). Absent Board Members were Angela James, Mat Pound, Lee Goff, Gary Mullen and Cal Welbourn.

President Klompen discussed ASA options with Kluwer Academic Publishers and Experimental and Applied Acarology, and it appears that they have cancelled all options that were put forward last year. In addition with the new technology most people can now get most journal articles by downloading them to their desktop computer.

After discussion it was agreed that one long newsletter per year seemed to be a good idea. The newsletter is to appear after the next year's symposium program is finalized and dates for the submission of program talks are known. However, there might be something in the ASA bylaws about the number of newsletters per year, and President-Elect Durden will check on this.

A general discussion was held on ASA's difficulties in dealing with the ESA, because of our informal relationship with them. A solution was not available to us.

President Klompen reported that the nominating committee came forward with an excellent slate of candidates. For President-Elect - Dan Sonenshine and Cal Welbourn. For Executive Committee - Sandy Allan, Lorenza Beati, Bob Husband, John Moser, Ron Ochoa and Lynell Tanigoshi.

The following topics were discussed for the 2001 ASA symposium in San Diego: Techniques, Coevolution of Mites and Hosts, Molecular Acarology, Mites and DNA in the New Millennium, and Parasitic and Phoretic Mites.

ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING

The Annual Business Meeting was called to order at 4:25 p.m., December 3, 2000, by President Hans Klompen.

President Klompen welcomed the rather sparse assemblage of ASA members, and thanked the speakers and moderators for a fine program. He then called for a moment of silence in memory of John Conroy and Syd Radinofsky who passed away this year.

Jim Keirans gave the Secretary/Treasurer's report. Minutes from the 1999 ASA Business Meeting were approved as written. Keirans requested that any members wishing to make dues payments could do so at any time during the ESA meeting. As of December 1, 2000, the balance in the ASA bank account stands at \$5922.24. Income and interest during 2000 amounted to

\$761.62, and expenditures \$786.99, for a not loss of \$25.37. Student travel award of \$150.00 and three plaques still need to be deducted from this year's balance.

The status of the Systematic Entomology Laboratory at USDA was discussed and it appears that Congress did not appropriate permanent funding for the position occupied at the present time by Ron Ochoa on a temporary basis.

The Student Awards Committee consisting of Doug Norris, Michael Levin and Casey Sclar judged the student papers on Saturday morning, and Chair, Doug Norris presented the plaque for best student paper to C. Marie Newman, Department of Entomology, North Carolina State University.

The Travel Awards Committee consisting of Carl Childers, Ellen Dotson and Doug Norris selected Jennifer Moran, Biology Department, Ithaca College for the award of \$150.00 which was presented to her by Secretary/Treasurer Keirans.

Jim Oliver briefly presented and update on the Joseph H. Camin Fellowship. As of this date the fund is at or near the \$10,000 needed to support one or more graduate students at the Acaroloogy Summer Program at Ohio State or a similar program at another institution.

President Klompen took up the election of ASA officers and presented the following list of candidates:

President-elect - Dan Sonenshine and Cal Welbourn

Executive Committee Members - Sandy Allan, Lorenza Beati, Bob Husband, John Moser, Ron Ochoa and Lynell Tanigoshi

There were no nominations from the floor. It was moved and seconded that nominations be closed. Ballots were distributed to the membership and the results tallied. Dan Sonenshine was elected as President-elect, and Sandy Allan and Lynell Tanigoshi as members of the Executive Committee.

As a token of respect and admiration, President Klompen presented a plaque from the ASA to Dr. Vic Prasad on the 25th anniversary of the International Journal of Acarology In his acceptance remarks, Vic graciously accepted the award, not for himself but for the editorial board of the journal, contributors to the journal and to his wife for all her support and encouragement.

President Klompen thanked the ASA membership for allowing him to serve as President and then installed Lance Durden as 2001 President.Durden then presented a plaque to Past-President Klompen for his dedicated work on behalf of the ASA during his term as President. President Durden reminded the Executive Committee members that there would be a meeting of the incoming Executive Committee at 11:00 a. m. on Monday, and adjourned the Annual Business Meeting at 4:56 p. m.

FINAL 2000 ASA EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

Montreal, Quebec, Canada. The meeting of the Executive Committee was called to order by President Lance Durden at 11:04 a. m. on December 4, 2000. Members present were Lance Durden (President), Dan Sonenshine (President-Elect), Hans Klompen (Past-President), Jim Keirans (Secretary/Treasirer and Archivest), and Committee members Barry OConnor, Sandy Allan and Lynell Tanigoshi. Absent Executive Members were Angela James, Mat Pound and Cal Welbourn.

As the first order of business, Evert Lindquist was granted Emeritus status in the ASA.

Suggested titles for the Informal Conference of the next ASA meeting were discussed and it was narrowed down to Acarine Evolution and Chemical Communication. It was decided that a conference on how arthropods detect pheromones would have a broad based appeal, drawing from a lot of different groups, and President-Elect Dan Sonenshine will organize and chair the session. Dan will also contact Section B and D that the ASA is scheduling a symposium on pheromones, and requesting that B and D not do the same. It was also agreed that President Durden will chair the student presentations in the morning session.

President-Elect Sonenshine will attend the Program Chairs Meeting on Wednesday regarding the informal acarology conference. The ESA promised last year to provide us with an electronic submission page for the conference, but there was nowhere to submit abstracts for the June 1st deadline.

Because there was no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 11:45 a.m.

Minutes respectfully submitted, James Keirans, Secretary/Treasurer